Join the Team

What’s going on guys? It’s story time. Now I had the idea to start The KU View to have a platform to say my piece on Kansas Sports from the student’s perspective. In my case, from the perspective of a 20 year old kid who grew up watching this University’s athletic program.

I realize that we are not journalists, and I honestly don’t want to be, professionally at least. My goal is to work in equipment and be a manager for the football team or something along those lines. There are others out there who have that locked down, like Matt Tait and Scott Chasen and the team at kusports.com and the Lawrence Journal-World. I have nothing but love for those guys, but I don’t want to compete in an already locked up section of KU media coverage.

So this leaves me where I am now. I feel that Andrew and I can offer a new side to the discussion, the side of the kids on campus that aren’t trying to work for a newspaper, but we could use help. So here’s my offer:

Come join our team. If you’re a student, plan to be a student, or go to another school while remaining passionate enough about the Jayhawks, we would love to have you. This is a place for you to say what you have to say and what you want to say with very little repercussions and it’s not that big a commitment.

If this is something you would be interested in, feel free to write a piece that is 400 words max and email it to us at thekuview@gmail.com or DM us on Twitter @thekuview to start a discussion.

Thank you for your time and as always, Rock Chalk!

Leave a comment